Tips and Tricks

Finding the Christmas Spirit in 2020

Welcome to Karmen’s Korner! If you are a new reader, be sure to follow my blog to get notifications on future posts.  If you are a returning reader, then welcome back. This week, I will be talking finding your Christmas spirit in 2020, a year void of holly jolly. This year has been a tough one for all of us and I don’t think we will ever forget it. It will be the year we tell our kids and grandkids about. With all of that said, Christmas is finally near which means 2020 is nearly over. The Christmas spirit has not alluded me this year. I have decorated my room and even my office space at work. My bookshelves are filled with lights, my tree is filled with its Harry Potter goodness, and my Charlie Brown Christmas tree has found its place next to my reading chair and fresh balsam candle.

SETTING THE VIBE

Setting the vibe is one of the first and most important things you can do to get into the Christmas spirit. Putting up your Christmas tree, lighting a holiday candle, and playing some cozy Christmas music or a fun holiday movie are some fun and easy ways to get into the Christmas spirit. I personally love to light a fresh balsam candle and play Lea Michele’s “Christmas In the City” album or put on a movie like Annie (1999) or Elf. These things paired with a cozy loungewear outfit and some hot tea are my recipe for a cozy holiday evening.

MOVIES TO WATCH

  • MISTLE TONES
  • THE POLAR EXPRESS
  • NATIONAL LAMPOONS CHRISTMAS VACATION
  • SAMANTHA: AN AMERICAN GIRL MOVIE
  • HOW THE GRINCH STOLE CHRISTMAS (JIM CARREY)
  • ANNIE (1999)
  • ELF
  • A CHARLIE BROWN CHRISTMAS
  • THE SANTA CLAUSE
  • JOY
  • HOME ALONE
  • FROZEN
  • A CHRISTMAS CAROL
  • MICKEY’S ONCE UPON A CHRISTMAS
  • BLACK FRIDAY (STARKID MUSICAL)

FINDING THE POSITIVE

I order to find the Christmas spirit in a year of tragedy, one must first find the positive. Finding the positive can be as easy as stealing Thanksgiving’s mantra and thinking about what you are thankful for this year. Think about all of the things that have positively affected your life this year. For example, this year may have brought me five-month unemployment, but it also brought me college graduation and some time off before stepping into adulthood. I did eventually get a full-time job, but I am grateful for the reflection time I had. I am also thankful for the time I had with my parents to have some overwhelming family time as well as the time I spent with my two cousins. I am also grateful for the time I was given to start my weight-loss journey to become a healthier self. Find your positives and let me know in the comments below. Let’s get a positivity train going!

Leave a comment below letting me know your thoughts on this week’s post and if you have found the Christmas spirit this year, and I hope you enjoyed this week’s post. Be sure to click the like button below and visit the links below to follow my blog via email or WordPress account to get notifications on future posts as well as to view other posts I have written. Also, be sure to check out the video linked below to watch me decorate my home office. See you next time!

Thanks for reading!




NEW VIDEO

Leave a comment